A Heart Overflowing…

How can I possibly describe how amazing the past few weeks have been?! I think the best way to do it is to post the pictures that accompany the experience.

As many of you know, my family has not been together for nearly 8 years. As time has gone by, my brothers, parents and I, along with our families have done our best to stay in touch and connected with each other, but distance does create a bit of isolation. In the past 8 years, there have been times when I’ve ached just to be with them. It has taken a lot of prayer and some sacrifice on everyone’s part but we actually did it!! For 4 1/2 days we were together in one place!

Even better, when we realized this event was actually going to happen, we tried to arrange for Sunshine’s baptism to be done while our family was here. For the first little while, it appeared that her baptism wasn’t going to happen during the reunion due to constraints on the original location. (Basically, when children in our church reach the age of eight, they have the opportunity to choose to be baptized and make the commitment to try to live lives that reflect the life of Jesus Christ) But, the wonderful leaders of our congregation decided that Sunshine’s baptism should be done at a time when our families could attend. They arranged for it to be done in our neighbor’s jacuzzi!! It was a wonderful event and the outpouring of love from our friends and family was overwhelming!

Question? How many people can our living room and dining room hold for a religious ceremony?

Answer: 70+ This picture only shows the living room portion of our home!

Doesn’t Sunshine sparkle? She was so happy!


Luckily for both Sunshine and He-Man, the water was warm!


After she got out, then it was freezing!


For baby blessings, wedding, baptisms and other religious and major family functions, my husband’s family generally wear their Scottish kilts.

On the way to the baptism.

Peej, Aimee and Mom getting ready for the Valentine Crepe Fete…with authentic french crepes that Peej perfected while on his mission in France!


On Valentine’s Day, we went to the LDS Temple as a family.


Just as though it were a gift from the heavens, it snowed last weekend for those of our family who live in the jungles of Okinawa and Los Angeles. It’s something they don’t really see there!


I love this picture of my brother, Joseph. He looks so happy!


This is Peej’s beautiful son, Alex. He’s even cuter in person!!

We have new picture software and I haven’t been able to figure out how to rotate pictures yet. Bunny is beautiful, as usual!


Most mornings, the cousins would get up and just play togther.


Grandpa and a handful of grand daughters.


Everytime I look at this picture, I’m reduced to a fit of giggles. This is sooooo my brother!

The joys of playdough

My mom actually straightened her hair! My dad’s eyes nearly popped out of his head!!


Luckily, there isn’t a cap on the amount of girlie princesses a family can have!

About T.D.

Hi there! Thanks for stopping by my corner of the blogosphere. I hope you like it here. This blog is where I ramble about the hats I wear (wife, mother, author, educator, etc) and everything in between. A wise man once said 'Happiness is a habit; cultivate it'. Here on this blog, I intend to do just that.
This entry was posted in Happy Little Accidents. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Heart Overflowing…

  1. nanadover says:

    Trishelle, what special memories! Having family together is the next best thing to heaven itself! Your girls are beautiful! And…real men wear kilts!!!!

  2. Dani says:

    What an amazing few days that must have been! I am so happy for you and your family. And congratulations on the baptism! What a great memory that will be for everyone.

  3. Erin says:

    We are so sorry we couldn’t come to the baptism! We missed you guys and I was thinking of you. Thanks for inviting us anyway.

  4. How awesome for you guys!! I cried while reading your post. Hormones may be a little to blame but I think it is mostly just because it was an awesome story! Yay!!

  5. Desi says:

    Looks like your family has all the little girls, that’s where they went! So far April is the only Grand-daughter, and she loves it. What a beautiful day, congratulations Sunshine! She’s positively shining! What a happy time for you all.

  6. Mary Ann says:

    What a great experience and even better that your entire family was able to be together!

Leave a comment